December Essays: Poetry by Carrie Murphy

SMALL-author-copy

 

[Editor’s note: This is the third installment of our new writing series curated by Ashley C. Ford. We’re so happy to welcome Carrie Murphy today. xo, grace]

 

Farm Fetish

If I become the kind

 

of woman who cans

 

things, I will can all

 

my own

 

joy.

 

I am an apple orchard.

 

Or, I want to be.

 

I want to wear clothes the color

 

of farm animals:

 

a pink mohair sweater like a pig’s sweet snout,

 

boots the burnished chestnut of a favorite horse.

 

Then I’ll live with a blue sky

 

like a lapis ring & clouds like the drugs

 

we put up our noses. I want the mud

 

caked on the stairs & the fuchsia skin

 

blistered from milking the cow. I want the rag rug

 

warming the wooden floor.

 

I am a green meadow from a catalog.

 

I am the flowers, cropped.

 

I wash my own clothes on a rock.

 

*Click through to read a second poem, “New Domesticity,” from Carrie after the jump*

 

New Domesticity

Stirring pitchers of sweet tea, smiling on porches

 

filled with guitars & barefoot people under a waning moon

 

but with candles scattered artfully so it’s bright enough to hum:

 

these fantasies are as artless as the means we’re willing to use

 

to make them real. Wait, that doesn’t make sense. Wait,

 

it’s not supposed to. Is this thing a thing that happens to you

 

or a thing you make? The sticky-fingered toddlers,

 

house with a charmingly creaky step & a big office in the back,

 

filled with books. All these things.

 

The charming ringing in my head. Jolly haphazard bohemian

 

dream, no it’s a script, no it’s a dream, no matter

 

how much sugar I’ll want to add, no matter how many

 

cut rate rag dolls cast down by the hand of a child

 

who is not a thing, a baby who is not an ornament,

 

crickets rubbing & rubbing & rubbing in the blue

 

evenings, because that’s the way they sing.

About Carrie: Carrie Murphy is the author of the poetry collections FAT DAISIES (BigLucks, 2015) and *PRETTY TILT* (Keyhole Press, 2012). She received an MFA from New Mexico State University. Originally from Baltimore, MD, Carrie works as a freelance writer and doula in Albuquerque, NM, where she is a member of the Dirt City Writers Collective. You can find out more about Carrie’s work at her website.

Leave a Reply

