DIY Opalescent Drawer Knobs

opal.knobs.done3

 
 

I don’t know about you, but I’m not one to resist a good trend. However, I’m at the point in my life where I know that I won’t love some styles forever, so I try to embrace them in smaller and less permanent ways.

 

 

These DIY opalescent drawer knobs are the perfect example. I love the iridescent, precious stone look of them. They make me think of a fortuneteller’s crystal ball and sea glass at the same time. Right now they’re perfect for me, but if I change my mind in a year, I can always swap them out — or maybe move them onto another piece of furniture instead! —Kathleen Ballos

 

opal.knobs.done5

 

 

 

opal.knobs.supplies

 
 

Supplies

 

 

-CD

 
 

-scissors

 
 

-glue

 
 

-plain drawer knobs

 

 

 

 

Steps

 

Step 1: To crackle the CD, put it into a microwave and set the timer for 5 seconds.* It takes only a couple seconds for the CD to crackle, so when you press start, watch and be ready to press “stop” when you see the CD crackle.

 

opal.knobs.step1

 

Step 2: Cut the CD into squares of equal size.

 

opal.knobs.step2

 

Step 3: Place the squares onto a parchment paper-lined baking sheet and bake at 300 degrees F for about 10 minutes, checking every few minutes. This step melts the CD and makes it look more opalescent and less shattered. When done, let cool and glue onto the plain drawer knobs. Let glue dry completely and then fasten knobs onto your piece of furniture.

 

*NOTE: This tutorial includes briefly putting a CD (which contains metal) into a microwave. I have not personally experienced any problems doing this, but skip this step if you’re uncomfortable. You can achieve a similar effect with just the oven step.

 

opal.knobs.step3

 
 

opal.knobs.done1

 

 

opal.knobs.done2

 

opal.knobs.done6

 

Leave a Reply

