A Cheery Home By the Beach in Oceanside, CA

A Cheery Home By the Beach in Oceanside, CA

Signing off on a rental home sight-unseen is a gamble. Rarely is it going to have everything on the “must-have” list. Arielle Vey and her boyfriend Bennett were living in a 1950s Oceanside, CA apartment just steps from the beach when they received a notice that they had 30 days to find a new apartment – the owner was turning their home into vacation rentals. Shortly after that, though, Arielle and Bennett received some good news: they could rent a one-bedroom apartment right across the street from where they lived. The couple took the apartment without even seeing it. They’ve since lived in their 1970s second-story apartment for three-and-a-half years.

 

Bennett works as a videographer, and since Arielle is an artist and freelance lifestyle photographer, she works from home during the day. When the couple signed onto the apartment without looking at it first, they weren’t sure if it would have the things they were hoping for. “Something I initially look for is big windows, an open floor plan, and any kind of view,” Arielle shares. “The apartment we were offered happened to have all of those things and more. The process of turning my space into a home has mirrored how I’ve grown into myself and I feel like the older I get, the more satisfied I am with my home. I make additions or little changes here and there.”

 

Arielle decorates with bright colors, mid-century pieces, lush florals and modern artwork (much of which she painted herself). The pair’s style is perfect for a casual, beachside apartment from the 1970s. “I wanted to create a space that allowed me to not only relax when I needed to, but stay productive while working from home,” Arielle explains. “A space where at the start of my day, the bedroom is in order so I can get to work and at the end of the day, the living room is the sanctuary. This means cozy everything, easygoing pieces, and simple maintenance. My goal for the decor was a mix of vintage-inspired modern pieces with pops of unexpected colors.” Accepting an apartment offer over the phone might have been a risk, but it is definitely paying off for this couple. – Lauren

 

Photography by Arielle Vey

 

Leave a Reply

